2020-2021 Catalog


School of Nursing (SON)

The IWU School of Nursing has a great history in nursing education, graduating the first class in 1975. The baccalaureate, master's degree, and Doctor of Nursing Practice programs in nursing at Indiana Wesleyan University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, (http://www.ccneaccreditation.org). Membership is held in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing. Eta Chi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International (Honor Society of Nursing) is chartered at Indiana Wesleyan University.

The School of Nursing has four divisions.

Division of Pre-licensure Nursing, which offers:

  • BSN degree for post-high school students. The Pre-licensure BSN (undergraduate program) is focused on the discipline of nursing and is supported by courses from the humanities and the natural and social sciences. Post high school students are admitted to the university and apply for admission to the nursing major during the second semester of their freshman year. Students are admitted to the nursing major as first semester sophomores. It is a traditional four-year program of study.
  • BSN degree for students with a previous bachelor's degree in an area other than nursing. The Transition to Nursing program, a Pre-licensure program, is designed as a 14-month accelerated, second-degree program. It was developed to provide an expedited method for second career seekers to become nurses.

Upon graduation, Pre-licensure students are eligible to take the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN).

Division of Post-licensure Nursing, which offers:

  • BSN - Post-licensure (RNBSN). The Post-licensure (RNBSN) program is for the practicing Registered Nurse. The program operates year round and classes are offered in the day or evening, on-site or blended, or completely online, to permit enrollment of working students. The Pre-licensure and Post-licensure programs are aligned in mission, philosophy, outcomes, and curriculum.

Division of Masters Nursing, which offers:

  • MSN degree. The Masters Nursing division offers majors in Nursing Administration, Nursing Education, and Primary Care Nursing with a specialization in Family Nurse Practitioner or Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner. Nursing Administration and Nursing Education programs are also available to students with an Associates of Science in Nursing through the ASN-MSN program. Also offered is a dual degree/major of MSN/MBA Nursing Administration/Business Administration. The graduate program operates year around. Classes are offered online to accommodate working professionals. Family Nurse Practitioner students will have one onsite evening course. Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner students will have one onsite evening course and two required residencies.
  • Post Masters Certificates.  The School of Nursing offers certificate programs in Nursing Administration, Nursing Education, Family Nurse Practitioner, and Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner for students who have a Master's degree in Nursing from a regionally accredited university with national nursing accreditation (CCNE, ACEN).

Division of Doctoral Nursing, which offers:

  • DNP (Doctor of Nursing Practice). The Doctor of Nursing Practice program offers the doctoral student an extensive focus on developing leadership skills within healthcare systems and includes a two-week global academic experience. The 71-week program is delivered using the cohort model, offering the convenience of online learning and the cultivation of genuine relationship building through week-long residencies at three intervals during the program of study.
  • BDNP (Bachelor to Doctor of Nursing Practice).  The BSN-DNP direct entry DNP/FP or DNP/PMHNP programs provide graduates of Baccalaureate Nursing Programs entry into a Doctoral Program focused on the Family Nurse Practitioner or Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner and systems and organizational leadership.  Graduates are eligible to take the FNP or PMHNP Certification exams from the appropriate credentialing body after completing this four year program.
Indiana Weselayan